The NHL is officially expanding, as commissioner Gary Bettman announced this morning that the league will expand to Seattle in the 2021/2022 season.

The newly-minted squad will launch their inaugural season in 2021 at the renovated Seattle Centre Arena.

Of note, Bettman was quick to announce that the yet-unnamed organization will be built under the same expansion rules as the Vegas Golden Knights; teams will be allowed to protect either seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender or a total of eight skaters in any combination and one goaltender.

The Golden Knights will be exempt from the expansion draft.

A look at the realigned divisions upon Seattle’s debut.

The league also announced that the fledgeling team would play in the Pacific Division, with Arizona moving to the Central Division. The move would balance both the Eastern and Western conference at 16 teams, bringing the total number of teams to 32.

More to come on the story as it develops.

NHL Last Five:
BREAKING: NHL Officially Approves Franchise in Seattle
Tagged on:         

Spencer Love

Once stood in front of Cedric Alexander in line at a hotel. Slightly big deal.

Leave a Reply